Current Location:Home > BMP Lab > Outline

Soochow University Biomedical Polymers Laboratory was established in 2007 and currently consists of 7 staff members, 4 chair/guest professors, 1 postdoctoral fellow, and 36 graduate students. BMP lab has published over 110 papers with more than 6000 times of citation, among which 17 papers are categorized as ESI highly cited papers and 3 papers are awarded as top 100 most cited Chinese papers published in international journals (Institute of Scientific and Technical Information of China). BMP lab has filed 39 Chinese and International patents, among which 11 patents have been licensed to BrightGene.

The research of BMP is strongly supported by the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), the Natural Science Foundation of Jiangsu Province, and BrightGene. BMP lab was set to undertake groundbreaking research and development on targeted cancer nanomedicines that may eventually lead to successful clinical translation. To this end, BMP lab has laid out following research focuses: (i) functional biodegradable polymers (including polyesters, polycarbonates, and polypeptides), (ii) responsive polymersomes, (iii) multifunctional micellar nanoparticles, (iv) reversibly crosslinked nanogels, and (v) nano-polymersomal contrast agents. BMP lab in close collaboration with BrightGene has the ambition to translate its several proprietary targeted cancer nanomedicine technologies to the clinical settings.

BMP lab has successfully organized the First, Second, Third and Fourth Symposium on Innovative Polymers for Controlled Delivery (SIPCD 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016) in Suzhou, China, which has been recognized as one of the top international conferences in biomedical polymers, drug delivery, and pharmaceutics. BMP lab has established a strong collaboration and/or joint PhD program with many research groups such as Profs. Jan Feijen, Pieter Dijkstra, Gert Storm and Jeroen Cornelissen from the University of Twente (the Netherlands), Prof. Wim Hennink from Utrecht University (the Netherlands), Prof. Jan Van Hest from Eindhoven University of Technology (the Netherlands), Prof. Rainer Haag from Freie University Berlin (Germany), Prof. Harm-Anton Klok from Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL, Switzerland) and Prof. Yong-Hee Kim from Hanyang University (Korea).